Story: Always Good To Meet A Fan

Adam and Leah stood in the back of the viewing line. There were a few dozen people ahead of them, all to see the woman in the casket at the front of the room.

“I think this turned out well.” Adam said.
“I hope so,” Leah said, “I did what I could, given the time constraints.”
“All for someone you know nothing about.”
“I didn’t do this for Corey. I did this for her daughter.”
“Dana is grateful, I’m sure. She’d probably say so herself if she wasn’t out in the courtyard.”
“I sincerely-“ Leah was interrupted by a woman tapping her on the shoulder.
“Excuse me. Are you Leah Arcast?” the woman asked.

Leah took a look at the woman. Leah had never seen this woman in her life.

“Why, yes, I am.” Leah said.
“I thought so. I wanted to let you know that I was a huge fan of Repeat Defender.”
“That’s good to know. Thanks for watching.”

Adam looked at the unknown woman.
“Sorry to interrupt, but Leah and I are kind of in the middle of something.” Adam said.

The woman nodded.
“That’s fine. I’ll be waiting.”

The woman left the viewing line. Adam glared at her as she sat in a seat near the room’s exit. When the woman took her seat, Adam turned back to Leah.

“Really?” Adam asked.
“I thought that would be over after the show got cancelled. But USA loves to re-run their shows non-stop.” Leah said.
“How did she even get in? There’s a friggin’ bouncer at the door.” Adam asked.
“They always do.” Leah said.
“It’s a funeral, for Christ’s sake. People should have some respect.” Adam said.

About connorfratus

Production Assistant. Writer. Video Game Enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

