Scenes From a Leather Recliner

I own a sweet leather sofa (It’s not an Italian Leather Sofa, unfortunately). It reclines. I also do the bulk of my video game playing from it. This is going to be an ongoing series where I post videos and info on some of the video games that I’ve been playing recently. It could be anything. It usually is.

Here we go.

Mega Man X2 for the Super Nintendo.

The Mega Man games follow a simple premise: You’re a humanoid robot. You can jump and shoot. There are eight boss robots for you to defeat, each being housed in their own stage, stylized on their particular gimmick. Upon defeat, you gain their special weapon, which you can use to defeat the other robots. That’s gist of it. Mega Man X2 is the sequel to Mega Man X, which was released in 1993, intended as an update to the classic Mega Man formula. You’re still jumping and shooting like in the original Mega Man games, but in this series, you’re a lot more mobile (you can climb walls and dash), and the detail is significantly greater due to the X series originally appearing on the Super Nintendo, as opposed to the 8-bit original Mega Man games. X2 is a particular favorite, as I rented this game all the time from my local Blockbuster. Seriously. Every week. Even after the Nintendo 64 came out and I should have been done forever with the SNES, I’d still check out MMX2 because it’s that damn good. It’s not a particularly ambitious sequel (none of the core Mega Man games really are), but Capcom knew to stick to what worked. To this day, Mega Man X2, as well as the other MMX games on the Super Nintendo, are well worth playing because they’re just as fun and playable today as they were in the early 90s.

Snowboard Kids 2 for the Nintendo 64

I’ve mentioned this series in passing before. Snowboard Kids 2 is a racing game for the Nintendo 64, developed by Racdym and published by Atlus. The game is unique in that it’s a Mario Kart-styled, item-grabbing, screw-your-friends-over-at-the-last-second racer with snowboards and oddly-designed player characters. The courses to race on are all very well-designed and eye-catching, and it’s hard to turn this game off once I start playing. It’s not really “addictive”, but it definitely is fun enough to keep coming back to. Like any racing game of similar type, this game is an absolute blast to play in multiplayer. It’s still incredibly satisfying to launch a frying pan or ice blast at a player just before they cross the finish line and then to zoom past them for first place. The soundtrack is an odd thing, though. It’s a lot of electronic stuff that seems really out of place. Hell, I know that when I was kid, I used to refer to a lot of techno as “sounding like music from Snowboard Kids.” Snowboard Kids 2 is actually a game I haven’t owned until very recently – I’ve owned the first one since I was a kid, but the second one was never really available. Being an Atlus game, it’s very hard to find. It’s a shame, though. Snowboard Kids 2 is great fun. As is the original.

Batman for the Nintendo Game Boy

I own approximately 200 Game Boy games. That’s a lot. That is more than anyone had back when these were new. I love the Game Boy. It’s my second favorite game console next to the Super Nintendo. I’m actually writing a review of the original Game Boy and the launch titles for it as of this posting. But, far too often, I sit on my couch, and I look at my large box of games, hoping to find something to play. I decided on Batman, because it’s friggin’ Batman. This particular Batman game, which is somewhat-based on the ’89 movie, is a run & gun platformer in the style of Mega Man or a primitive Contra. You control Batman, and shoot down crooks and destroy blocks that impede your progress through a level. It’s very similar to Super Mario Land in that regard, except this game actually has decent controls. When I say that this game is a “run & gun” platformer, I actually mean it: Batman’s main attack is to shoot a projectile at enemies. For those of you that didn’t grow up watching Batman cartoons and/or watch any of the movies, Batman’s kind of got a thing against guns. In that he’s never used one to take down a foe because he doesn’t need them. Batman himself is enough to scare a criminal without the use of a gun. That’s the point of being a masked vigilante. I don’t know if there’s any justification for this in the game’s manual or something, but it’s just plain odd that this is how it’s done in this game. It’s almost like this game wasn’t originally intended to be based on the Batman license, and they shoehorned it in for another movie cash-in. Despite the odd mechanics, the game itself is actually quite fun. It’s more fun than it has any right to be, since movie-based games are generally rushed out to meet deadlines and they’re quite poor as a result. In the giant landfill that most movie-licensed games eventually belong to, Batman for the Game Boy isn’t bad.

Oh, and for the record: None of the above videos are my gameplay. They’re just Youtube videos of the game in question. Eventually I’ll try to make my own playthroughs of games and put them on my Youtube account, but until then the above gameplay videos are the best I can do.

About connorfratus

Production Assistant. Writer. Video Game Enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

