Fire Emblem and other recent events.

Oh yeah. I have this blog.

It’s been a long time. Mostly because I don’t think anyone actually reads this. Hello to the people who actually do. You’re part of an elite group. Carry the title proudly, because in a few years, you can tell people that you were reading Connor Fratus’ blog first. That’s the kind of credibility that needs to be earned.

In the past year I’ve done a lot of stuff.

But mostly, I managed to graduate college. Woo! This is the first time in my friggin’ life where I don’t have to go to classes during the week. Hooray, freedom! I can do whatever I want! I am the master of my own destiny! I AM GOD!

Alright. Maybe not God. But definitely the other things.

I now have an absurd amount of spare time. I’m not as pleased with this as you’d think, because I am currently job hunting. I’m looking at television and radio stations to apply to, and most haven’t called me back or they’ve outright said “no.” I’m basically looking for anything that would fit with my degree, which was Public Relations. For the record, I’m including “bartending” as a PR job, so my standards are flexible. Much like in my dating life.

That’s a lie. My dating standards are actually quite strict. “Short Skirt Long Jacket” strict.

Anyway. Movin’ on.

I’ve been spending my downtime by taking part in the best American passtime: Video games. Except not really. See, I have a very bad habit of being very ADD when it comes to video games. The second I start playing something, I feel like I need to play something else. I can never decide on what to actually take the time to play, so I usually just go back to playing Tetris, because Tetris is the gaming equivalent of crack – It’ll hook you in the first time you use it, and you will constantly go back to it no matter what pressing issue you have to tend to or how many people try to get you away from it.

Be sure to talk to your kids about Tetris.

The newest game that I’ve been playing is Fire Emblem: Awakening for the Nintendo 3DS. It is an absolutely fantastic strategy role-playing game, and I really do not like that genre at all. Much like Gin, Italian food, and movies starring Ed Norton, I have to be in the mood to play a strategy game, and that doesn’t happen often. I think that the last game of the type that I played was the strategy segment from MegaMan Battle Network 5, and that’s only part of a larger game. So my enjoyment of Fire Emblem is kind of a big deal for me.

I’m not going to go into how the game works. There are professional journalists as well as “gaming journalists” who can explain it better than I can. (Though I’m sure that I can do a better job of it than most of Kotaku’s staff. Gauntlet: thrown.) All you need to know is that it is ridiculously fun to play. If you’re a fan of strategy games at all, you owe it to yourself to pick Fire Emblem: Awakening up.

That is, if you’re able to find it. Fire Emblem has had a bit of an issue getting physical copies into stores. Apparently Nintendo underestimated the demand for the game and there’s a shortage of games going to stores. Online prices are, predictably, through the goddamn roof. If you need this game and there aren’t any copies in your area, the 3DS eShop is a valid option to buy the game. Through the eShop, you can download the game straight to your 3DS, for the same price as buying it in a store. I’m not the biggest fan of that, since I like having physical media for my games, but it’s certainly an option. Right now it won’t even make a difference between eShop and retail, since the prices are the same.

(I think I may start reviewing games on this blog in the future. It’ll give me something to do in between job interviews.)

 

 

About connorfratus

Production Assistant. Writer. Video Game Enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

